thegreatratsby: (Default)
[personal profile] thegreatratsby
IDK man it's bad but I am grimly determined instead of despondant now. so. I guess that's progress.

what else have I been up to...won an electric buffer/polisher in a raffle for my beloved partner. bought a cute sweater with a bird applique. best friend's cat tragically but peacefully passed away. tried and failed to see the aurora (chose the wrong day). stayed local for thanksgiving instead of nightmare travel this year (thanksgiving, conference, and holiday break all separated by one week) so I'm watching like 3 cats for people and going to hang out with two of my friends tomorrow and do crafts and cook :-) I think this is the last tuesdaypost for November as well. yikes.

listening:


  • reminded that Grizzly Bear exists so I relistened to Shields. still a good album. favorite song: boringly, "Yet Again"
  • Iconoclasts (Anna von Hausswolff): banger album. makes me feel like my teeth are falling out (positive). I don't think I can select a favorite track accurately, I guess 'Aging Young Women'? sax line on 'Struggle with The Beast' is incredible. just listen to the album it's good. I think this might be one that I buy instead of pirating/streaming.
  • Migrant Returned. I didn't like it initially but it is unfortunately growing on me. "Like Crazy" has been on the list this week
  • Weyes Blood newest single "Real Thing". I like it
  • more trueanon as background noise. the banter is good



    reading:

  • How Sabrina Carpenter Dream-Come-True’d Her Whole Life (Angie Martoccio): regrettably (because I am just completely neutral on her music) "asked which ex it’s about, she replies, "It’s about your dad"" is really funny, as is "thank god for the nepo babies because they’re fans of mine, and I need to meet their parents".
  • Eidolon (Llanval); linked by a friend in context of other folks in the group chat talking about marvel thorki but this is Not marvel. unfinished and likely to remain so. I don't know if I'd call it Good(tm) but it was engaging and I DID read the whole thing so
  • the Olivia Nuzzi shit ass NYT fluff piece, followed by this thing. I read it and now so do you.
  • started volume three of "Remnants of Filth". I have been assured that things do start happening by the end of this one so I'm sticking it out for another volume or two. I'm enjoying it well enough, there's just not a lot actually happening plot or content wise. a lot of pining, some flashbacks, etc, but I'm a little bored by the lack of events when I compare to other novels e.g. "Evil as Human" where there is a LOT of plot things happening and the romance, slow burn or otherwise, is a large part of it but not the sole focus.

    watching:

  • more expanse with friend. almost done with s1. I forgot how much of a sad weird wet rat they committed Miller to being. heart emoji.
  • saw the new Frankenstein. it's percolating. I'm mixed on it as an adaptation. enjoyed the GDT flair and style but I think they made the creature too sexy/too much of a victim to convey the same themes that the book did. that is okay though it is an adaptation and that's how it is sometimes. it's biggest crimes, imo, are length (WHY is it almost three hours but also that it didn't seem to use that time effectively) and wolves don't fucking act like that

    playing:

  • some MtG, cube and also a little online commander with a different group. I am realizing that learning to play with the friends that I did gave me a VERY skewed sense of what it means to be Good at Magic because 2-3 of the people in my pod are really fucking good. I still consider myself kinda dogshit but I'm probably more middle of the pack than I give myself credit for. went sicko mode with mono green azusa for one round (cloned field of the dead with vesuva, scapeshifted to make a shitload of zombies, craterhoof'd) and realized that deck was a little too juiced for that crowd, but when I play with my normal group with that deck I have won maybe...once? twice? because they're all very big on removal and control.
  • I plan on getting back in the Hades 2 mines with my days off this week

    making:

  • finished the needlepoint! now I need to figure out how to block it so it's less. parallelogram'd. maybe pillowcase cover?
  • not only can I check off the "submit a piece to the local gallery's call for artists" entry on my new years resolution, it got accepted! I finally finished my wristwatch relief carving/print that I started in like. 2023? and made some niceies ones. did different variations than the one I posted 2 weeks ago but it's that design. I spent One Hundred And Seventy Dollars on the fucking custom frame for it (my friend works at the frame shop and talked me into doing it nice-style instead of just juryrigging some michaels bullshit) ... I fully anticipate it not selling and just going up in my kitchen so whatever. I suppose it's not impossible that it Could sell but I am keeping my expectations very low.
  • some pottery; finished glazing holiday gift for best friend (matcha bowl), put some flowers in underglaze on some bud vases, another one of the mug shapes that I like but I chipped this one. the yellow one from two weeks ago came out as expected. getting kinda antsy because it's taking her FOREVER to do a bisque and I have all my holiday presents in there. time is ticking. I'm gonna have to glaze VERY fast.

  • designed this year's holiday card :-) I will put it at the very bottom of the tumblr post so that friends who will be receiving one in the mail won't get spoilers if they don't want them. (sidebar, if we're mutuals and would like to get a holiday card, dm me!) I did some sketches, ported the one I felt nice about over to my ipad, designed it, mirrored it, and printed that bad boy out for transferring to the rubber block, which I anticipate doing tomorrow.


    eating:

  • made the one pan zucchini pesto orzo last Monday and then I think mildly food poisoned myself eating the last of the leftovers on Friday, so in the future I will be halving it while I live alone lol. technically it is two bowls (the one pan is for the cooking but there is a separate bowl involved for the tomatoes and mozz). my hack is that when a recipe calls for mozz chunks/cubes I just buy the little snacking pearl sized ones. they sell them in 8oz packages and it means I just have to dump it in
  • zucchini bread recipe linked from a friend to use up the huge $2 zucchini I got from the farmers market. friends, I have made this recipe twice and still have half a zucchini left. I think I'm going to just grate the rest of it and freeze it into blocks for future baking. it's a good recipe, I used greek yog instead of applesauce but otherwise made as directed, might try to sub in butter for the oil to see how that comes out.
  • made it off the bench for a friendsgiving :-) someone I know had a group over and I was originally on the backup list but some jackasses not only didn't go but hadn't told my friend? so that was delicious food and I have a feeling I may not be on the backup list in the future lol (as in I will be on the main list)

Date: 2025-11-27 06:22 pm (UTC)
petsohp: (Default)
From: [personal profile] petsohp
have fun cat sitting! just little triangles....

Date: 2025-11-27 06:41 pm (UTC)
petsohp: (Default)
From: [personal profile] petsohp
Curiosity killed the cat.

This kitten (me) was vaguely curious about the Nuzzi scandal, but didn't know where to begin, and it turns out the article you linked by Brian Phillips is pretty good with the introduction of everything I missed, and why people are !!! about her right now.

You know, I feel better about my writting now.

Profile

thegreatratsby: (Default)
antimony

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
222324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios